Just Mercy Events

Selection: 
Just Mercy

Saturday, September 14 at 3 p.m., Watauga County Public Library

“Grief and Loss: Issues Experienced by the Families and Children of Death Row Inmates”

  • Dr. Sandra Joy, Professor of Sociology at Rowen University, Glassboro, NJ

 

Sunday, September 15 at 2 p.m., Belk Library Lecture Hall 114 , Appalachian State University 

“Losing a Loved One to Death Row”

  • Dr. Sandra Joy, Professor of Sociology at Rowen University, Glassboro, NJ

 

Tuesday, September 17, 7:00-8:00 p.m., Holmes Convocation Center

Public talk, followed by book signing

  • Bryan Stevenson, author of Common Reading selection Just Mercy 

 

Wednesday, September 18 at 5:30 pm, Watauga County Public Library

Book discussion:“Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption”

  • Skip Rackmill, Adjunct Professor in First Year Seminar

 

Tuesday, September 24, 2019, 7-9 p.m., Watauga County Public Library

Humanities Council Book Discussion: Leigh Goodmark, “Decriminalizing Domestic Violence”

  • Facilitators: Dr. David Russell and Dr. Ellen Lamont, Sociology Department

 

Tuesday, October 8, and Wednesday, October 16, 7:00-9:00 p.m., I.G. Greer Auditorium

Documentary screenings: In Pursuit of Justice: How Criminal Justice Reform Freed Greg Taylor 

 

Monday, October 21, 5:00-7:00 p.m., Belk Library, Room 114

“Feminism's Alliance with Police, Prisons, and Punishment: A Panel on Carceral Feminism” A Faculty Panel

  • Department of Sociology and the Gender, Women’s, and Sexuality Studies Program

 

Tuesday, October 22, 7 p.m.,  I.G. Greer Auditorium

Greg Taylor and his lawyer, Chris Mumma, from the NC Center on Actual Innocence Presentation followed by Q&A

 

Tuesday, November 5, 7:00-9:00 p.m. , Belk Library, Room 114

Documentary screening: At Night I Fly, followed by a panel on “Prison Arts, Education, and Recidivism”

  • Rhetoric and Composition Program